Exercise your mind and body

2010~Recap


This year started off with such good hopes of a good year to come.  But just three weeks into this new year and to my surprise one day my husband comes home early from work.

He told me that he was let go.  It took some time to get over the shock of it all, plus a whole new routine was born.  It’s been a little over 10 months of me praying for some good news and him constantly going on interview after interview.  Which brings us to Dec 2010, he just landed a job that seams promising.  The stress in our house has been lifted for the time being.

Ok enough about my hubby now on to my favorite subject…Me!!!    heehee just kiddding.

But seriously 2010 was the year I took charge of my health. In my early 20’s I suffered alot with heartburn and my Dr told me to cut out fried foods and spicy food.  Well growing up in an Italian house, fried wasn’t the norm.  My mom is an amazing cook and health conscience, she makes everything from scratch.  Nothing fried or cooked in butter.

Ok back to me again…

In 2009 I had some tests done only to find out that I had a stomach ulcer.  Doc put me on a pill that I had to take daily and I did that for 6 months and my ulcer healed.  But it came back shortly after.  That’s when I decided that I would try something different.  I went to my Dr and told her about my ulcer and that I also wanted to lose some weight.  She recommended a low carb diet.  So Dec 1, 2009 was my first day on my low carb journey.  I was doing really well but these last few months have been pretty stressful and I’ve plateaued and put my health on the back burner.  But the good news is that so far I’ve lost 28 lbs and I’m down 4 pant sizes also I’m no longer taking my ulcer meds.  Which use to cost me $75 a month.  Now I use that money to buy my skinny clothes hahaha.  But I do want to lose 25 more lbs to get to my goal weight.  Right now I feel great and I know I’ll get to my goal.

OK I know I’m rambling on and boring you.
This is not a diet, this is my new life style.  I don’t feel deprived in anyway.  When I do get a craving for something  that’s not part of my usual menu then I try my best to find a Low Carb version of that but if that fails sometimes you just have to say Screw it!!!  and go for it.  But the trick is to get back on that horse and hold on for the ride.

Now with the New Year upon us things look a lot brighter now that hubby is working, all is good.

2011 is where I put my health back on the agenda.


Starting with:

  • Planning out my meals for the week
  • Daily morning exercise (30 minutes elliptical)
  • Drink 8 ~ 8 oz of water
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • * ‘ll keep adding to this list as I find what works for me.
Comments on: "2010~Recap" (2)

  1. Great job losing the weight.

    I went on a low carb diet in January. Lost 22 pounds in 4 months. And have kept the weight off the last 8 months.

    You’re right. It’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle.I eat a lot. I’m never hungry, but I just don’t eat certain things. I don’t drink beer. I go to the gym 4-5 days a week.

    Maybe I’ll try to lose another 10 pounds in 2011. But I’m the same weight now I was 20 years ago. I feel comfortable at this weight.

    So who knows?

    But one thing’s for sure, I won’t gain weight if I stick to what I’ve been doing the last 12 months.

    Like

  2. Hi Joe

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Wow you’re doing great as well on your low carb lifestyle.

    All the best in 2011 !! 🙂 Cheers!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

