Exercise your mind and body


Chicken Chickpea Soup, Say that three times fast 🙂

Ok well I’m still sick and everyday seems to get worse with a whole new batch of symptoms.  I feel like Crap!!! I came up with this soup today since all I’ve been eating has been in liquid form.  I better have a good great weigh-in after all this pain and suffering!!  Anyhow I came up with this really yummy recipe.
It’s 13 carbs per bowl and it’s so very worth it.

Chicken Chickpea Soup

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons garlic, minced
½ onion, chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt, more to taste
1/4 teaspoon oregano
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
Pinch of cayenne
2 celery stalks, diced
6 cups chicken broth
1 can (15 ounces) chickpeas, drained
1 Tablespoon chopped parsley

Preparation:

Heat 2 Tbl oil in a large soup pot over high heat. Add onion, 1 Tbl garlic, celery, salt and sauté until onions and celery starts to soften, about 10 minutes.
Add broth to pot and bring to a simmer for 15 minutes.
Puree vegetables with a hand blender.
Add oregano, black pepper and cayenne.
In a small pan add 2 Tbl oil and 1 Tbl garlic add chickpeas and parsley.
Sauté for 5 mins and add to soup.

Yield: 6 to 8 servings.

Comments on: "Chicken Chickpea Soup Recipe" (4)

  1. Yum! That looks (and sounds) delicious!

    I’m so glad I came across this blog as I love the mantra and also try to stick by the mantra:

    Eat Meat~Green Veggies~Nuts~Some Fruit~No Sugar~No Grains

    I do have SOME grains though like quinoa and brown rice but that’s it.

    I have lots of recipes on my site too if you care to check it out!

    🙂 Amanda

    Like

  2. Kitchen Stadium said:

    I think the blog looks good right now. Is the background image the issue? Just reduce that (if that’s the problem) and re-upload it.

    I left you a comment over at my blog, too.

    I used my real name to link to my blog on twitter and while the roommate uses twitter, I don’t think she has bothered to look me up. (who knows). I don’t what the her to read my blog so I’m not saying much about it the situation in case she find/reads it so I leave things out. (that WOULD be mean of me).

    However, there is an offline blog that will begin begin publishing in April. I hope it will be named: In The Fish Bowl. It will be on the amusing side (though nothing about this has been) and you’ll probably think; Girl, there are worse things in life, but in my life–not now, not for me. I need to be looking for work, be on my computer, make personal calls and use my kitchen and avoid them like the plague. It can’t be done, I assure you. (You can delete this comment after you read it) – Thanks.

    Oh…. if you have an email I send you screen shots if you need them for the formatting.

    Like

  3. Hi Amanda, Checked out you blog and it’s great.

    Hey Lisa, Thanks for all you help, I left you a message on your blog.

    Like

  4. Kitchen Stadium said:

    the trip is actually this weekend; like now — I’m leaving in about an hour–I just didn’t want to post I was leaving town this weekend. I changed my mind and decided to go because I’m too sick of waiting around to see what their next move is in/out of the house and I just need to not deal with that all weekend, I’m keeping a positive mind and expect to enjoy myself. I chose to drive down alone so that I can take my time and have some ME time. Anything would be better than staying home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

