IIFYM "If It Fit Your Macros"

Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken

Slow Cooker with alluminum balls to support the chicken

Chicken with spice rub

Chicken is fully cooked after 8 hours and so juicy

Chicken breast, asparagus with parmesan and a caesar salad on the side.

This chicken was a huge hit and I have enough leftovers for lunch.
I see chicken caesar salad in my future 🙂

What’s your favorite Low Carb slow cooker recipes?

Ingredients:
2  whole chickens

Rub Ingredients
:

1 tablespoon paprika
1 tablespoon chilli powder
1 tablespoon ground rosemary
2 teaspoon seasoning salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder

Preparation:
Roll aluminum foil into balls and add to bottom of your crockpot.

Rub dry ingredients all over the chicken, and under the skin and rub some inside the cavity.

Set chicken on top of foil balls and set slow cooker to high and cook for 8 hours.

Just before serving you can broil for 5 mins to make it crispy.

*For Carb Lovers* You can also make a gravy with the drippings

Comments on: "Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken" (7)

  1. thank you! I missed blogging for a while, and fickle? yes. I needed a new format. thanks for finding me. Work is going VERY well so things have been looking up!

    Like

  2. Doina Manea said:

    Hi Marisa, I am so glad to have run into your blog! You are an angel sent by … we know who!

    I was doing quite serious research online about … what else … dieting (I’m in trouble if I don’t shed off lotsandlotsandlots of pounds, about this some other time). I found the blog of dr. Eades, I learned about dr. Westman, dr. Poon, I clicked here and there, and that’s how I found your blog. Without any doubt, this kind of diet – low-carb-high-protein – fits my metabolism, body type, life style, everything. It’s true that some years ago, when I bought dr. Atkins’s book, I was afraid that so much fat will rise my cholesterol levels, which is high now.

    I also researched the plant-based diet (see dr. Esselstyne), and read his book. I thought to myself, Well, maybe there is some truth in here and maybe I can do it, if only I apply myself to this kind of regimen. But then, I started digging deeper, learning about some deficiencies that arise, lack of specific vitamins & minerals. You must swallow supplements. I am very bad with meds, I will forget to take my vits. Plus, to make such a radical cut from oils and protein! Plus, I suffer from colitis and vegetables, raw, in salads especially, make a nasty number in my stomach.

    To make a long story short (you must have read lots of this sort of stories), I decided it’s time to get onto this bandwagon, low-carbs-high-protein. I might not be able to eat that much fat (my liver is very sensitive, although I’ve had my gallbladder removed a few years back.)

    Thank you very much for posting the food finds, and also those delicious recipes. I cook. I don’t eat junk food, I don’t have a particular sweet tooth (days could go by without touching a cookie or ice cream, or even pasta) but I eat my morning bagel with coffee, and potatoes. I love potatoes [*sighs*] but I understand we can replace them with cauliflower. No more bagels. Good.

    Maris, I apologize for this long introductory post, I felt like I could “kitchen talk” with you! My next meal tonight will be the chicken in slow cooker! Ah, and those aluminum balls, brilliant!

    I also subscribed to receive updates from your blog. Until then, warm hugs, good luck and success in loosing the remaining pounds, and all my kind regards.
    Peace and light,

    Doina from New York

    Like

  3. Hi Doina,

    Thank you for the lovely introduction, I wish I would get more of these. I do enjoy when people leave comments, it totally makes my day.

    This new lifestyle is working for me & I hope you it will work for you too.

    I’m not one for sweets either but now and again I crave Chocolate!!!

    Oh wow!!! I I know what you mean I luv potatoes too!!!

    All the best to you on your new journey and keep in touch I want to hear how it’s going 🙂

    Like

  4. Marisa, thank you for the lovely “welcome” message!
    You’ll see me around your blog quite often.

    You seem experienced, so I do have a couple of questions to ask, but one at a time!

    1) How do you count carbs? Ok, I’m not that stupid, I can read labels and I’m doing this for long time to learn about the various ingredients in the product I’m buying. But how do you measure, or count, carbs in vegetables, for ex. that don’t come packaged? Last night I cooked some leak with roast chicken. My fridge is full of veggies, meat, all kind of stuff and I was trying to sort out things (to keep vs. to toss out!) You measure by cup?

    My problem now is that I need to read a good book on this diet to see the exact measurements, and how many carbs are allowed per day, etc. If not, then I have no idea what I’m doing and I don’t want to screw the diet unnecessarily and to get frustrated. I want to see results!

    Happy cooking,
    Doina
    [p.s. I have a facebook account; would you allow me to post a link to your blog?]

    Like

  5. Hm, this is how I discover things about myself. It looks like I have a wordpress account doinamanea, opened in January 2011, and that’s why my name appears like this on top of my previous post. I’m not that active online, besides the beginning of a blog in which I haven’t posted anything in more than a month.
    Cheers,
    Doina

    Like

  6. Hi Donia,

    I’m not expert but I’ll help as best I can with all your questions so keep’em coming 🙂

    1) I bought a book called Dana Carpender Carb Counter. It’s a great book to have for us carb counters. I measure by cup or grams, it depends.

    2) Start off with 20 carbs per day for just 2 weeks. Soon I plan on posting what my diet consists of since a lot of people ask me…so stay tuned 🙂

    Sure you can post my blog link on Facebook, that would be great.

    Like

  7. Looks delicious. I wish I had a crock pot I have to do slow cooking the old fashioned way. still jsut as yummy though 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

