Exercise your mind and body

Citrus Salad Dressing


It’s been interesting these past 3 weeks since my kids have been back to school.  Since the first day of school I’ve been bumping into people I haven’t seen all summer or even longer than that.  Mostly school yard acquaintances.  So far I’ve had people come up to me and say “Wow you lost weight?”  “How much did you lose?”  “How did you lose it?”  “OMG!!! you look amazing, have you lost more weight?”
I’m almost speechless when I get these compliments, yes I’ve lost weight 41 lbs to be exact and yes I’ve seen the progress but I guess for some reason my brain still views me as a fat person.Anyhow with every compliment that comes my way it just reminds me that I’m doing good and don’t stop now, plus my brain image of myself is starting to change as well.

Also I’ve had people really interested in how I lost the weight, they either come right out and ask or they shimmy their way around a few topics and gradually ask.  I basically just say that I eat lean protein, fruits and veg.  Some people are very opinionated and have to give me their 2 cents on how bad it is to cut out carbs bla bla bla.  I tell them that I have carbs but my carbs come from beans, fruits and vegetables and not from bread, pasta, or rice .Anyhow getting back on the topic we all love and hate so much…Food hahaha.  The other day I went out for lunch with a friend and had a great chicken salad over wonderful conversation.  The salad was so good that I wanted to recreate it at home.  It was a grilled chicken over baby spinach, topped with brie, dried cranberries and sugared pecans with a drizzle of a a citrus vinaigrette.

Here’s my version of it.

Citrus Salad Dressing

Ingredients:
8 cups baby spinach leaves

2 oz brie, diced
3 tablespoons dried cranberries
3 tablespoons sunflower seeds
2 Tbsp orange juice concentrate, thawed
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp splenda
1/2 tsp Dijon mustard

Preparation:
Combine the spinach and brie in a large serving bowl.

Whisk the juice concentrate, oil, vinegar, garlic, splenda and mustard together in a small bowl.
Pour the dressing over the salad and toss to coat.
Garnish with the sunflower seeds and dried cranberries.
**Adding grilled chicken breast to this salad is a quick and easy dinner.

Serves: 4

Nutritional Facts:
Per serving:  101 gr
Calories: 144
Fat: 12.1 g
Carbs: 4.8g
Fiber: 1.8
Protein: 5.3 g
Net Carb: 3 g

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

