Exercise your mind and body

Monkey Brains for dinner


You had what for dinner???  Say it isn’t so???

Wow with being sick with a cold and my monthly curse at the same time I was totally out of commission for almost 2 weeks.  But I’m better now and going strong!!  So far this week I’ve been to the gym  three times and I’m trying new classes.

Yesterday I posted my workouts on my fitness page, I haven’t been updating it this past month but I plan on logging all my workouts daily.  This was my workout for yesterday.
Gym: 25 mins Elliptical 250 calorie burn
Gym: 45 mins Wynndurance

Motivation & Maintenance

Since being sick, my eating habits went out the door.  All I wanted was comfort food and to be honest, most comfort foods are very high in carbs.   But I’m back on track and feeling fine. I’m happy with my weight now but I would love to those infamous last 10 lbs but I’m not sweating it, I’ll get there when I get there.  The hard part now is staying motivated and to not lose myself and fall back into old habits.  I feel that maintaining is just as difficult as trying to lose weight.  The goal is to not gain weight and maybe lose a few more so even though I’m happy where I’m at right now it’s still a challenge not to indulge and let things slide.  

This weekend we’re going to visit my family for Thanksgiving…Yeah Baby!!! I’m so looking forward to my mom’s cooking and seeing my sista, these two ladies are so important in my life.  Luv you!  I’m also looking forward to seeing my dad, nephews, uncles etc.. didn’t want to leave anyone out 🙂

Phew!!!  Very funny!!  Squash!!!

Monkey Brains for dinner…What??!?!?!??!  Yup …Ok well not really, last year we watched the Indian Jones movie with our kids and they were eating monkey brains, eeeww!! GROSS!!! a few days after watching that movie I made this sausage stuffed squash for the first time so when my kids asked what’s for dinner… of coarse I said…Monkey Brains!!! and the name stuck LOL. 
*No monkeys were harmed in the making of this recipe* 
  🙂

I haven’t made this dish since last winter, sausage stuffed squash, YUMMY!!  Here’s the link if you’ve missed it.  This time I added some grated parmesan cheese and it was delish!!!

https://marisaskitchentalk.wordpress.com/2010/09/11/sausage-stuffed-acorn-squash/

What are your Thanksgiving plans?

Comments on: "Monkey Brains for dinner" (3)

  1. Welcome back, Marisa! I noticed your absence, but I figured you’ve been busy like any other mom on earth. Funny thing is that this week I’m down with a bad cold and sore throat and awful coughing. It’s the season, right? Comfort food? Mm … yeah … ahem. My sister bought a choco cake for herself and one slice ended up in my stomach. Bad. But I have’t started the plan yet, not fully. Still purging my kitchen, pantry, fridge, making notes, you know the drill. I bought Dr. Eades’ book, it just came in the mail. No more excuses to delay.

    I’m also reading (lilke a thriller) The Vegetarian Myth, by Lierre Keith. Such a courageous lady, she takes the agri-business by the throat. The book is borowed from my library but I’m going to buy it.

    Your monkeys are adorable! And the recipe sounds delicious. Speaking of eating brain, I remember my maternal grandpa used to eat the chicken brain, sucking it from the skull. He grew chickens, hens in the backyard and he loved them like his own children. The day of the slaughter was a big drama, he couldn’t do it, had to hire someone else. We didn’t eat much meat, it was expensive (think of Europe after the WWII, food rationed), therefore meat was the real treat, once a month, cooked in various meals from soup to pilaf. We ate yogurt, buttermilk, butter and bread, lots of fruits, and in the winter, pork meat and preserved vegetables. I grew up healthy in spite of the shortages.

    Marisa, I wish you good luck with the last pounds. You’re doing great!
    Have a lovely weekend,
    Doina

    Like

  2. Hi Doina,

    How’s the Dr Eades book? I’ve never read it, is it a low carb diet? Thanks for sharing you story of your grandpa, it’s so true that people ate better then even on a tight budget.

    Wishing you all the best.

    Like

  3. About dr. Eades and his wife, also a doctor: I’ll quote from the back cover of the book, it explains better than me.

    “The authors who turned the food pyramid upside down continue to break the rules! The provocative, year-long New York Times bestseller Protein Power revealed how a carbohydrate-loaded diet – not one rich in protein – can cause obesity and heart disease. Now its authors, Michael R. and Mary Dan Eades, expand their theory and eating program and offer an astonishing three-tiered nutrition plan, one that makes it easy for everyone, even die-hard junk-food junkies! – to reap the benefits of good health.

    ~ A fat primer: how some fats can reduce heart disease
    ~ A new look at sunlight: in a chapter sure to cause controversy, the Eades show why too little sun is unhealthy.
    ~ The latest findings on insulin resistance: why it’s so important to detect, and how to avoid the weight problems this condition can cause.
    ~ Crucial data on supplements: vitamin E, alpha-lipoic acid, vitamin C, magnesium, chromium, and coenzyme Q10.
    ~ Important information on iron: why our bodies naturally conserve it and how to decrease iron buildup

    … plus meal plans, recipes, kitchen stocking advice, and more. ”
    End of quote.

    They developed the nutritional rules of the game for the following commitment to lose weight and healing:

    “1. The Hedonist. This plan incorporates only those changes that will bestow the greatest rewards with the least effort and the fewest nutritional adjustments.
    2. The Dilettante. This is a middle-of-the-road plan for those who wish to achieve certain additional health benefits without sacrificing all the pleasures of the Hedonist regiment.
    3. The Purist. This is the strictest regiment, one that closely mimics the diet our ancient ancestors thrived on and therefore bestows the maximum health and fitness rewards.”

    The book is rich in studies related to the above issues, explains in details the workings of our bodies, the issues of insulin, cholesterol, and much more. It includes tables of caloric-carb values of various foods, and also how much protein is good, according to gender, height and weight.

    Just for you to know, I’m not paid by the doctors to promote their book. I happened to learn about it, and about the Eades, while doing my research online.
    The link to dr. M. Eades blog, in case you’re interested to read more:

    http://www.proteinpower.com/drmike/

    Hugs,
    Doina

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

