Exercise your mind and body


This breakfast is very high in carbs but it’s loaded with protein, fiber and it’s low in calories and fat.  The best part about this is that it keeps you full for a very long time. 

I cook the oats ahead of time so that I can have them ready for the morning and just heat it up.  I cook the oats a little different than most people.  I don’t like the soupy gooey glue like slop oats.  Instead I cook the oats as I would rice.  I  cooked the steel cut oats in boiling water for about 15-20 mins until al dente.  Then I drain the oats in a collander and rinse it to remove all the starch.  Drain well and they can now be store in the fridge for up to a week and all you have to do is choose between hot or cold.  For this recipe I went with a cold breakfast.  But if you like a hot bowl of oats measure 1/2 cup of cooked oats, with 1/2 almond milk, and season with what you like.  We like cinnamon and a tsp of almond butter or peanut butter, then warm in the microwave and enjoy!!!

Steel Cut Oats Yogurt Berries Chia

Ingredients

1/2 cup cooked Steel Cut Oats
1/2 cup Astro Yogurt – Zero% Fat Free (Vanilla)
3 small Strawberries, sliced
4 small Blackberries
1/2 Tbsp Chia seeds, dry seeds

Preparation

Combine all ingredinets in a bowl and enjoy!!

Nutritional Info

  • Servings Per Recipe: 1
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 170.7
  • Total Fat: 3.7 g
  • Cholesterol: 5.0 mg
  • Sodium: 61.5 mg
  • Total Carbs: 28.5 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 6.3 g
  • Protein: 9.3 g
  • Net Carbs: 22.2 g
Comments on: "Steel Cut Oats Yogurt Berries Chia" (2)

  1. jillianmckee said:

    Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could email me?

    Jillian

    Like

  2. Thanks for following me! This looks delicious! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

