Exercise your mind and body


20120820-183541.jpg

Many years ago I made mashed cauliflower also known as Faux-Tatoes and my kids didn’t like them at all.  In fact it was really funny when my son said the mashed potatoes taste funny and thought they’ve gone bad as in rotten…HAHAHA!!

Last night for dinner I decided to try to make those rotten mashed potatoes again but this time I’ll add a few more in ingredients other than butter and salt.  As I was pureeing them in the food processor I was thinking of what I would normally put in mashed potatoes and that’s when the sour cream came to mind.  Then I added sharp cheddar cheese because you can’t go wrong with cheese!!! 

When I placed the bowl on the dinner table my kids were so happy to see mashed potatoes so they piled  it on their plates and after the first bite they’re like Hey mom this isn’t potatoes its that cauliflower again??  Well it’s really good!!!
I was so happy to hear that as they went in for seconds.  I almost had to hurry to get a serving for myself hahaha!!!

Hope you like it. 

Next time I make this I might try to make it as a casserole au gratin.
Coming soon !!

What do you put in your mashed cauliflower??

Mashed Cauliflower

Ingredients

1 large head cauliflower (about 2 pounds), broken into florets
1/4 cup sour cream
1/4 cup sharp cheddar cheese
1  Tablespoon butter
1 Teaspoon salt
1/4  Teaspoon garlic powder
1/4  Teaspoon onion powder

Preparations:

In a large pot add water and cauliflower florets and bring water to a boil over high heat.
Cover tightly, cook until tender, 10–12 minutes, and drain.
Purée cauliflower in a food processor.
Add sour cream, butter, garlic powder, onion powder, cheese and salt; process until smooth and well combined.
Place in a serving bowl and sprinkle with extra cheddar if desired.
Serves: 6

Net Carbs: 2.8
Fiber: 2.5
Protein: 2.5
Fat: 6
Calories: 77

Comments on: "Low Carb Mashed Cauliflower" (2)

  1. google Twice Baked Cauliflower — sooo delicious — or check out my post http://wp.me/p2zOpC-sr

    Like

  2. Excellent work. see you,

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

