Exercise your mind and body


Saturday October 11, 2014 I will be hosting my 2nd family thanksgiving dinner for 20 people.  It all started last year since my parents & sibling & my husbands parents and siblings all live out of town from us and we are in the middle of everyone.  We decided it would be a great way for all of us to get together one last time before the ugly snow arrives.    Last year went really well, food turned out good and even though I vowed not to make turkey this year since there was way too much leftovers that we ate for a week 😦

Well guess what!!!  I’m making turkey again this year…hahaha  but I’m going to do it differently.  Ever since I was a little girl my mom would make deboned stuffed whole chicken for very special occasions and it was always delicious.  So for this Thanksgiving I’m going to do my best and debone and stuff a whole turkey.  I have only ever deboned a few chickens over the years so this will be interesting to do.  I bought a 18 pound fresh turkey that I deboned and froze, then defrost and stuff with my stuffing (Italian sausage, veggies, rice, stuffing)

I found a website of a butcher who’s shown step-by-step on how to debone a turkey, so if any of you would like to give it a try for your Thanksgiving dinner.  Trust me when I say it’s a memorable dish to serve to your guests, since when it’s stuffed with your favorite stuffing and roasted to perfection, then sliced with an electric knife for even sliced turkey with stuffing, you’re guests will have seconds and possible thirds, which will leave you with very little leftovers…heehee 🙂

Below is a step-by-step on how to debone a turkey.

http://www.the-perfect-turkey.com/how-to-debone-a-turkey.html

Turkey

Turkey deboned

This is the back of the turkey, once stuffed and sewn & closed, I will turn the turkey over breasts facing up.

(use a very sharp knife but be careful since I almost lost a finger in the process, the bones are much harder than a chicken so you’ll really have to put some muscle into it.) 

Below is a picture of a deboned stuffed turkey before it goes in the oven.

Turkey Raw Deboned

Stay tuned for pictures of my Thanksgiving turkey dinner. 🙂

Gobble Gobble!!!

Comments on: "How to debone a turkey for Thanksgiving" (3)

  1. You always have such good posts, Marisa :))) there’s such a positive aura about you and just reading your blog you can feel it! Hope to see you in Mtl soon xoxox

    Like

  2. Hi Victoria, So glad to hear from you it’s been way too long since we’ve seen each other, I’ll be in MTL in the summer and I’ll be sure to make a coffee date so we can catch up.

    Glad you like my posts, I usually post about what’s been on my mind lately or what I’ve been eating. I really miss my family in Mtl so to reminisce about the good times puts a smile on my face. Like the saying goes…Food is where the heart is…

    Wishing you the very best 🙂

    Like

  3. My aunt used to debone a turkey, and I always wondered how she did it….

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

