Exercise your mind and body

Mason Jar Salads


Mason Jars

I’ve seen many mason jar salads and I thought I’d give it a try.  Well I have to say it was a huge success, even my husband took it to work.  It’s just as convenient as a crockpot, you know when it’s time to eat that you have a nice meal waiting for you.  Food prep is about making your life easier. Sure it takes a little effort and time upfront but it is worth it. It is so rewarding to open up the refrigerator door and see healthy delicious meals ready to eat.  All week I didn’t have to wonder what to make for lunch since it was already waiting for me.  For the salad I chose to go with a variety of pickled veggies, but a high carb option is to add pasta, couscous, quinoa or rice etc.  

The options are endless when in comes to preparing food ahead of time so there really is no right or wrong way to do it.  Basically, it comes down to just making time and getting it done.  I used chickpeas as my protein since that’s what I had but you can use hard boiled eggs, tuna, grilled chicken etc.

Here’s the ingredients for the jars below but I plan on changing a few ingredients for this weeks batch.  Start with dressing at the bottom of the jar and then the more sturdy ingredients go in first and work your way up to the more delicate veggies, such as lettuce.

Ingredients:
2 Tb Ranch dressing 2 g
1/2 c chickpeas 13g
1/4 c corn 8g
3 cherry tomatoes 2g
62 grams of marinated artichokes 0g
3 slices of pickled beets 2g
30 grams garlic pickle slices 1g
43 grams shredded cabbage 2g (I used the bagged coleslaw)
43 grams broccoli slaw 2g (I used the bagged broccoli slaw)
1 cup chopped  romaine lettuce

I used 1 litre mason jars.

Calories: 355
Fat: 16 g
Carbs:46 g
Fibre: 12 g
Protein: 12g
Net Carbs:  34g

***Note to self*** Omit the corn, way to high in carbs for lunch.  🙂

wpid-wp-1416616864394.jpeg

 

wpid-wp-1416616584242.jpeg

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

