IIFYM "If It Fit Your Macros"

wp-1464955712411.png

Ingredients:                    

1 cup shredded coconut, unsweetened
¼ cup flax seed, ground
¼ cup flax seed, whole
¼ cup chia seeds
¼ cup hemp seeds
¼ cup chocolate chips, dark (Hershey’s 50% cocao)
¼ cup dried cherries, chopped
¼ cup dried blueberries, chopped
¼ cup dried cranberries, chopped
2 cups oats, quick
¼ cup super red powder
4 scoops vanilla whey protein (each scoop is 40 grams X 4= 160 grams)
30 grams honey
30 grams coconut oil

Preparation

Combine honey and coconut oil in a small bowl or ramekin & melt in microwave for 20-30 seconds, set aside.

In another bowl combine all ingredients and mix well. 

Add honey & coconut oil to the dry ingredients, mix until it’s combined.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, pour mixture into pan and gently flatten evenly with your hands or a rolling pin. 

Refrigerate a few hours until firm.

Slice into 16 bars.

Nutritional Info:

Per serving:

Calories: 237
Fat: 10.9
Carbohydrate: 21.2
Fiber: 5.0
Protein: 12.4

Comments on: "Marisa’s Coconut & Berries Protein Bars" (3)

  1. These look and sound wonderful, Marisa. I have just this year moved away from anything sweet. my blog readers will probably be upset about no such recipes being posted. Not only have I gained weight but I’m convinced desserts and breads are precisely what caused it all, even though they are low-carb. So I’m just creating salads, entrees and sides now. But I have finally found a WOE that is working for me. I’ve lost 10# in the last 2 months. That’s not much for many, but phenomenal for this turtle loser. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Peggy, so nice to hear from you. I too have been struggling with my weight this past year. Its not easy as we get older, everything starts to slow down. I’ve been experimenting with flexible dieting, aka IIFYM…aka, counting my macronutrients. Its takes some time to get the hang of it, some days are better than other but the best part is that I’m not eliminating any food groups. I can eat anything that fits my macros.
    Peggy that’s great that you found a WOE that’s working for you. Congrats on the 10# that’s awesome!!!! I’m a turtle loser too
    All the best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m taking tons of Ibuprofen for chronic back disc issues and it’s notorious for water retention. I’m finally slated to see Pain Management soon, but I fear they’ll start me on steroid vertebral injections and that is known to cause water retention. sometimes, Marisa, I think some of are just not meant to win this battle. I’ve been working hard at it for 7 years and counting and still need to lose 40#. Sigh. Some days it’s so discouraging. Hang in there. It’s all we can do, and keep on truckin’. Best of luck with your new WOE.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

